The team is led by Andrew Paterson, a regents professor in the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences and the head of the Plant Genome Mapping Laboratory at UGA. Paterson has been a fellow for American Association for the Advancement of Science, won the Lamar Dodd Award for Research in 2009 and the Distinguished Agriscience Scientist Award from Christopher Columbus Fellowship Foundation and American Farm Bureau, and served as the chair of the International Cotton Genome Initiative.

International partners include:

Santosh Deshpande, Hari Upadhyaya, Vincent Vadez and Ashok Kumar in India

Eva Weltzien and Fred Rattunde in Mali

Eric Manyasa in Kenya

Kassahun Bantte in Ethiopia